top of page
Search
  • jpaget54

Young people's experiences with racism and Explore terms privilege, allyship micro aggression.


Privilege and its impact

Privilege is something that we all have to some degree.​


Having white privilege doesn’t make your life easy but understanding it can make you realise why some people’s lives are harder than they should be.​

  • I can be sure that the materials used in the curriculum will be a true reflection of my child’s heritage ​

  • I can go shopping without the fear of being followed because of my ethnicity, colour, or religion ​

  • I can access a building easily without having to check accessibility in advance ​

  • If my child has been stopped and searched, I can be sure that it is not because of their ethnicity or colour.​

  • I can easily buy toys, dolls, books and greeting cards that represent my child's ethnicity

Allyship


"Allyship refers to the actions, behaviours, and practices that people take to support, amplify, and advocate with others, especially with individuals who don’t belong to the same social identity groups as themselves"





Allyship in action

  • Actively listen…ask​

  • Avoid rationalising behaviour​

  • Educate yourself​

  • Believe what you are hearing​

  • Speak up/not over​

  • Be respectful​

  • Understand your own privilege​

  • Challenge inappropriate comments

Bystander effect

The bystander effect occurs when the presence of others discourages an individual from intervening in an emergency situation, against a bully, or during an assault or other crime. The greater the number of bystanders, the less likely it is for any one of them to provide help to a person in distress.​

You are in waiting for your partner in a busy city centre and you witness a man and woman shouting at a mother and her 3 young sons. The man is saying that she “should go back to her country” where they stone people. The woman continues that the mother “doesn’t belong here” The mother is in tears and the children are scared.


Young people's experiences

“Racist comments are overlooked and made in lessons, comments about my hair”​


“The N – Word was read out in my English class, everyone laughed and looked at me​


“Lack of displays and representation”​

“A teacher came up to me and asked if I was foreign”​

“Not enough punishment and it doesn’t work”​

“Black History Month is tokenistic…there’s so much more to Black History”​

“Not listening…so why bother telling an adult”​

“Other people telling me I’m not being treated differently” ​

“It's just banter”​

South West - Hate incident/hate crime

329 Race Hate Crimes & 122 Race Hate Incidents reported in Plymouth between 01.04.21 and 31.03.22 ​


Race Hate statistics show that there is a significant peak in the number of hate crimes reported and events that take place locally, national and internationally. ​

Only a fraction of hate crimes and incidents ever get reported ​


If you are from a minoritised community, you are 2.9 x more likely to be a victim of crime, 9 x more likely to be stop and searched, 7.6 x more likely to be arrested with force.​



38 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page